Furnace Cost in Ontario [2026]
Replacing a gas furnace with a high-efficiency model (95% AFUE or more) in Ontario typically costs $5,000–$8,000 CAD installed, based on prices published by Home Depot Canada, Enercare and Ontario installers and checked in October 2026. Sixteen Ottawa homeowners who reported what they paid in 2024 and 2025 land on a median of $6,000. Ontario installers advertise single-stage furnaces from about $3,000, but that is the most basic swap, so compare full written quotes with 13% HST shown as its own line.
Researched and edited by Gabriel Reyes. Last reviewed: October 2026.

How much a new furnace costs in Ontario
Six companies publish Ontario prices for replacing an existing gas furnace with a high-efficiency model:
| Source | Published range (CAD) | Date | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Depot Canada | $4,900–$8,000; average $7,500 | Undated | Four models, parts and labour, before tax |
| Enercare | $5,000–$8,000+ | September 2026 | Natural gas, installed, fuel and tanks excluded |
| LG Home Comfort | $4,000–$9,500 | September 2026 | Furnace in Ontario, same range for every model and city |
| 1st Heat Home Comfort (Concord) | $4,500–$6,500 | September 2026 | Straightforward like-for-like replacement, all-in |
| Simcoe Muskoka Home Comfort (Orillia) | $4,500–$7,000 | September 2026 | What most of its customers pay, installed |
| Custom Contracting | $5,000–$7,000 | October 2026 | Average 1,500–2,000 sq ft home: unit, labour, permit, removal and gas reconnection |
Sources, checked October 2026: Home Depot Canada, Enercare, LG Home Comfort, 1st Heat Home Comfort , Simcoe Muskoka Home Comfort and Custom Contracting. Only Home Depot says its prices are before tax; the others don’t say.

The six ranges overlap between $5,000 and $8,000. Enercare and LG Home Comfort sell and install furnaces, and Home Depot sells its own installation service, so read each range as what that company charges. LG’s $4,000–$9,500 covers every model, size and city in one band: treat it as the outer edge.
Home Depot’s two pages disagree with each other. Its Ottawa store page gives $7,500 as the Ontario average, while its national furnace guide lists $3,700 as the average for one of the same models. Use the ranges by model and ignore both averages.
Ontario adds 13% HST to a pre-tax price: a $6,000 furnace becomes $6,780. For the other provinces and the national picture, see our page on furnace replacement cost across Canada. Our page on how we build our price ranges explains how we choose and date sources.
Furnace prices in Ontario by type
Four Ontario installers and Home Depot publish installed prices by furnace type:
| Type | AFUE | Typical installed price (CAD) | Published by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single-stage | 95–96% | $3,000–$5,500 | EcoFrost $2,800–$4,500; Hawana $3,300–$4,000; 1st Heat $3,500–$5,500 |
| Two-stage | 96–97% | $4,500–$7,500 | EcoFrost $4,500–$7,000; 1st Heat $5,000–$7,500; Simcoe Muskoka $4,500–$7,000; Home Depot (Trane S9X2) $5,900–$7,500 |
| Modulating | 97–98% | $6,000–$10,000 | EcoFrost $7,000–$10,000; 1st Heat $7,000–$10,000+; Simcoe Muskoka $6,000–$9,000+; Home Depot (Trane S9V2) $6,500–$8,000 |
Sources, checked October 2026: EcoFrost Heating (Mississauga, January 2026), Hawana HVAC Solutions (London, April 2026), 1st Heat Home Comfort (Concord, September 2026), Simcoe Muskoka Home Comfort (Orillia, September 2026) and Home Depot Canada (undated, before tax). The installers don’t say whether HST is included.

Hawana publishes the lowest prices in every row: $3,500–$5,500 for two-stage and $5,200–$7,000 for modulating. Hawana is in London, and its page says the price covers equipment, labour, removal of the old furnace, the permit and the TSSA inspection. A quote near those numbers can be fair if it includes the same items, so check each one before you compare it with a higher price.
If an installer quotes a modulating furnace, ask what the extra money buys in your house. Two Ontario installers disagree sharply on the gas savings. Dynamic Heat and Cool in Hamilton says a 98% furnace costs $1,000–$2,000 more than a 95% one and saves about $50–$100 a year in a 1,500 sq ft home, so it takes 15 years or more to pay back. Custom Contracting says a high-efficiency furnace saves $300–$600 a year and pays back in 5–8 years. Ask the installer to estimate the saving from your own gas bills, in writing.
Several Ontario price pages still list an 80% AFUE tier, including two of the pages Google’s AI Overview cites for this search. Since December 2019, a furnace for an ordinary house in Canada has to reach at least 95% (the 80% exception covers relocatable buildings and replacements in manufactured homes). If a quote names an 80% furnace, ask why.
What Ontario homeowners actually paid
Two Reddit threads give prices that homeowners actually paid, one from Ottawa and one from London.
Ottawa. In a December 2025 thread on r/ottawa, sixteen homeowners gave the price of one gas furnace installed in 2024 or 2025:
- Median: $6,000. Range: $5,200–$8,300.
- Lowest: $5,200 with tax included, for a 96% furnace and a smart thermostat, installed in under six hours during an emergency. The homeowner says it was a clearance model from 2024.
- Highest: $8,300 for a red-tagged furnace replaced within 24 hours.
- Three quotes: one homeowner collected three, and all three came in close to $6,000.
London. A January 2024 thread on r/londonontario is older and smaller, with three prices paid for a furnace:
- About $3,600, installed the night before by a friend who works at an HVAC company.
- About $4,000, with an extended warranty.
- $8,000 for a Trane two-stage furnace with a new humidifier, a 15-year warranty and free maintenance.
The most upvoted reply puts a London furnace at $4,000–$7,000 depending on brand, efficiency and installation, and tells readers to get three quotes. A homeowner with a small house reports a quote of about $10,500 for a new furnace and air conditioner in June 2023 and decided to wait.
Sources: r/ottawa and r/londonontario, user-reported quotes, read in October 2026. Prices are unverified, mix tax-included and pre-tax figures, and the London ones are from 2023–2024.
The London prices start lower than Ottawa’s, and London is also where Hawana publishes the lowest installer prices in this guide. Three prices and a two-year gap can’t settle whether London is cheaper, though. In Ottawa, nobody paid less than $5,200, even though four installers advertise single-stage furnaces below $4,000. An advertised “from” price covers the simplest job: same location, existing venting, no extras. The two London prices near $4,000 came with a friend’s help in one case and no detail on the model in the other. Ask every installer for the total, with removal, venting, permit and HST on separate lines, and compare totals.
Toronto and the GTA vs the rest of Ontario
Two Ontario installers publish prices by region, and they point in opposite directions:
| Region | 1st Heat Home Comfort (Concord) | Dynamic Heat and Cool (Hamilton) |
|---|---|---|
| GTA | $5,000–$8,500 | $4,000–$6,500 |
| Smaller markets or rural Ontario | $3,500–$6,000 | Rural Southwestern Ontario $5,200–$8,500 |
| Northern Ontario | n/a | $6,000–$10,000+ |
Sources, checked October 2026: 1st Heat Home Comfort (September 2026) and Dynamic Heat and Cool (prices as of January 2026; Hamilton, Burlington and Ancaster $4,200–$6,800). Tax not stated.
1st Heat says labour in the GTA costs more; LG Home Comfort says the same. Dynamic says homes an hour or more from a city pay 20–40% more because installers have to travel and fewer of them serve the area. The two claims compare different things: 1st Heat sets the GTA against smaller towns, and Dynamic sets cities against homes far from any city. Get quotes from installers based near you, and if you live far from a city, ask each one whether travel is in the price.
Ontario’s winters also differ. Heating degree days measure how much heating a city needs over a year (base 18 °C, 1991–2020 normals):
| City | Heating degree days | Compared with Toronto |
|---|---|---|
| Ottawa | 4,434.1 | 18% more |
| Toronto | 3,751.3 | n/a |
| Windsor | 3,363.6 | 10% fewer |
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada, climate normals for the airport stations, captured October 2026.
Ottawa needs about a third more heating than Windsor, so the same furnace runs more hours there each winter. If an installer in Ottawa sizes your new furnace by copying the old one, ask how they checked it against your home’s heat loss.
What adds to a furnace quote in Ontario
Ontario installers price these items separately, or tell you they are included:
| Item | Typical cost (CAD) | Published by |
|---|---|---|
| Permit (municipal or gas) | $100–$350 | EcoFrost $150–$350 where required; 1st Heat $100–$300 municipal plus $75–$150 TSSA/gas; Megacity $150–$350 |
| Removal of the old furnace | Included or $75–$300 | EcoFrost included or $75–$150; 1st Heat $100–$300; Megacity $100–$300 |
| Ductwork changes | $300–$1,500 or $500–$3,000+ | Megacity; 1st Heat |
| PVC venting | $200–$500 | EcoFrost |
| Gas line upgrade | $200–$600 | EcoFrost |
Sources, checked October 2026: EcoFrost Heating, 1st Heat Home Comfort and Megacity Heating and Air Conditioning (updated September 2026). Tax not stated.
Venting and gas line prices come from one installer each, so treat them as examples. If your old furnace is mid-efficiency, 1st Heat prices the venting and condensate changes for a high-efficiency model at $500–$1,500.
Timing changes the bill too. 1st Heat and Dynamic Heat and Cool both list a 20–50% premium for winter emergencies. In the Ottawa thread, six of the sixteen homeowners replaced a failed furnace in a hurry and five of them still paid between $5,200 and $6,100; the one who paid $8,300 had it done within 24 hours. If your furnace is red-tagged, get a second quote before you sign, even if it costs you a day. If it still runs, a service visit can buy time to compare: see our page on furnace maintenance and tune-up cost.
Permits, TSSA and CO alarms in Ontario
TSSA. In Ontario, gas work belongs to a contractor registered with the Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA), whose technicians hold a gas technician certificate. TSSA has fined people for installing gas furnaces without authorization, including more than $7,000 in one 2023 case. Before you sign, look the company up in TSSA’s registered fuels contractor search or call TSSA at 1-877-682-8772.
Toronto permits. The City of Toronto’s mechanical permit guide lists a flat fee of $214.79 for a boiler or furnace replacement in a single-family home or townhouse (page updated August 2026). The guide doesn’t say whether every replacement needs one. Ask your installer whether they pull the permit, which one it is and whether the fee is in the quote. In other cities, ask your installer or your municipality. The inspection matters: in the London thread, a homeowner whose oil furnace was replaced with a gas one says the inspector caught a gas manifold that hadn’t been grounded.
Carbon monoxide alarms. Since January 1, 2026, Ontario’s Fire Code requires a CO alarm next to every sleeping area and on every storey of a home with a fuel-burning appliance, including floors without bedrooms (TSSA). A gas furnace counts. While the installer is in your basement, ask whether they supply alarms or expect you to.
Renting vs buying a furnace in Ontario
Enercare and Reliance both publish starting prices for furnace rentals in Ontario:
- Enercare rents furnaces from $67 a month for the life of the equipment, which its FAQ puts at typically 15 years, with installation, maintenance and repairs included. The buyout depends on your rental agreement (Enercare, read October 2026).
- Reliance lists $75–$90 a month for a single-stage furnace, $90–$130 for two-stage and $115–$140 for modulating (Reliance, April 2026). It doesn’t say whether these include tax.
At $67 a month, 15 years of rent comes to $12,060, about twice the $6,000 Ottawa median for buying. Buying leaves you paying for repairs and maintenance yourself, and the rental covers them, so compare the rent with the purchase price plus a tune-up every year or two. Before you sign a rental, get the monthly rate, the term, the yearly increases and the buyout schedule in writing.
Two Ontario rules protect you here:
- Door-to-door sales. Since March 1, 2018, a company can’t sign you up for a furnace, air conditioner or water heater at your door unless you contacted it first. A contract signed that way is void (Ontario).
- Liens on your title. Since June 6, 2024, companies can no longer register a notice of security interest (NOSI) on your home’s title for a furnace, air conditioner or water heater, and the ones already registered are deemed expired. Your contract still stands, and the company keeps its other rights. The province warns about companies that charge to “remove” a NOSI (Ontario, updated January 2026).
Enercare and Reliance also rent hot water tanks. Prices for buying one are on our page on hot water tank replacement cost.
What it costs to heat an Ontario home with gas
Enbridge Gas bills Ontario homes in four rate zones, and its July 2026 rate notice gives a typical residential bill for each:
| Rate zone | Typical use per year | Typical annual bill |
|---|---|---|
| Enbridge Gas Distribution (EGD) | 2,400 m³ | $1,028.62 |
| Union South | 2,200 m³ | $917.06 |
| Union North East | 2,200 m³ | $1,170.27 |
| Union North West | 2,200 m³ | $871.30 |
Source: Enbridge Gas rate notice filed with the Ontario Energy Board, effective July 1, 2026. The figures cover all gas use in the home and the notice doesn’t say whether they include HST.
In the EGD zone, the October 2026 rates add up to a fixed charge of $27.69 a month plus about 28–30 cents per cubic metre before HST (Enbridge). Check your bill to see which zone you are in and what you pay.
Ontario’s Home Renovation Savings Program, run by Save on Energy and Enbridge, lists heat pump rebates and none for gas furnaces. The heat pump amount depends on how your home is heated today: Enercare (June 2026) reports $500 per ton up to $2,000 for a gas-heated home and $1,250 per ton up to $7,500 for an electrically heated one. Check the program page for current terms before you count on any amount (checked October 2026). If you are deciding between a new furnace and a heat pump, start with our comparison of heat pump vs furnace.
How to compare furnace quotes in Ontario
Collect at least three written quotes, then check each one for these points:
- Total with HST. The subtotal, 13% HST and the total, with removal, venting, permit and thermostat shown as lines or marked as included.
- Model and rating. The model number, the stage type and an AFUE of 95% or more.
- TSSA registration. The company appears in TSSA’s contractor search.
- Permit. Who applies for it, which one it is and whether the fee is in the price.
- Labour warranty in writing. Home Depot gives 1 year on labour and sells extended coverage up to 10 years; ask each installer what theirs covers and for how long.
- Rental terms, if offered. The monthly rate, the term, yearly increases and the buyout price, next to the purchase price.
